Autumn: The Season of New Beginnings

IMG_2267.JPG

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.” – The Great Gasby

There are things in this world, that for whatever reason, do not work out. Family issues, anticipated exam grades, relationships, friendships, driving incidents… We’ve been through the everlasting fights and the painful heartbreaks, and sometimes we just have to realize that there is nothing that you can do except to accept and let go. I’ve learned a lot about accepting and letting go this past year. Whether it be the pain of an ended friendship with a person whom you once called your “best friend,” or the pain of loving a person who did not have the capacity to love you the same way. You can’t change people and you can’t change their opinions or their actions. You can only change how you react to the circumstances you are put in. I think that is one of the most important things I have learned in my life to this day.

This fall, I am actively utilizing this time to work on what I haven’t been this whole time: Myself. For the past 20 years of my life, Summer had always been my favorite season of all time and I never really liked autumn… but these past few autumns have been some of the most significant autumns in my life. Last autumn was the beginning of a new relationship, a new school, a new environment – this autumn is not the ending, this autumn is the beginning of a new era in my life in which I will stand up for myself more often, go out and do things that make me happy, and really indulge in every single moment that I am living in. I will surround myself with people who build me up, love me for my quirks, and accept me for the complicated ever-changing, spontaneous person that I am. It’s been difficult lately, but I know that life gets better and I have love all around me. I am so hopeful of that. I declare this to be another life-changing season, and I cannot wait to take on the challenges that are to come ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

